PsyFi vs Zoom Clinical Notes
Zoom Clinical Notes is AI visit documentation built into the Zoom client — it drafts notes from Zoom Meetings, Zoom Phone, and Contact Center calls, and from in-person visits captured on Zoom's desktop, web, and mobile apps, with templates for primary care and behavioral health. PsyFi is behavioral-health-only and works wherever your sessions already happen, and it's a suite rather than a scribe: ambient session notes plus a HIPAA-aligned AI assistant and psychological report writing, on one subscription with one BAA.
PsyFi is published by PsyFi Technologies. Zoom figures come from Zoom's Clinical Notes product page and the Zoomtopia announcement on news.zoom.com, as of October 2026. Zoom described the October 2026 release as an enhancement of an existing product — verify current pricing and terms with the vendor.
PsyFi — quick facts
- What it is
- An AI suite for psychological professionals: ambient session notes, a HIPAA-aligned AI assistant, assessment report writing, and an iOS app — one subscription, one BAA.
- Who it's for
- Behavioral health only — therapists, counselors, and clinical, school & neuropsychologists.
- Pricing
- PsyFiGPT from $15 · PsyFiGPT Pro $29 · Clinician $49 · Psychologist $99 · Practice $59/seat (3+ seats), per month. Annual = 2 months free.
- Free trial
- 7 days.
- Compliance
- HIPAA-aligned, BAA available on every paid plan. PHI de-identified before any AI model call. Never training data. AWS US data residency. Trust center
Zoom Clinical Notes — quick facts
- What it is
- An AI clinical-documentation add-on for Zoom Workplace, enhanced at Zoomtopia in October 2026. It drafts visit notes from Zoom Meetings, Phone, and Contact Center encounters and from in-person visits, using Zoom's own healthcare speech recognition, with ICD-10 code suggestions.
- Who it's for
- Health systems and practices already standardized on Zoom — primary care and behavioral health templates; Epic Haiku and Hyperspace integrations for Epic shops.
- Pricing
- From $79 per user per month, billed annually, on top of a Zoom Workplace license. Consumption pricing beyond the base is not published. 21-day trial for qualified accounts.
- Compliance
- BAA available to support HIPAA compliance efforts under a signed agreement. Zoom states it does not use customer content to train its or third-party AI models. Admin-configurable data retention of up to 14 days (whether that covers session audio is not stated). Notes and transcripts stored in the U.S.
Side by side
How they compare
| Dimension | PsyFi | Zoom Clinical Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Specialty focus | Behavioral health only — therapy-native note formats, psychology-scoped assistant, psychological report writing | Primary care and behavioral health templates; ICD-10 code suggestions |
| Paid pricing & billing commitment | Clinician $49/month, month to month (or $490/year); plans from $15/month; no other license required | From $79 per user per month, billed annually, on top of a Zoom Workplace license; consumption pricing beyond the base not published |
| Free trial | 7 days on every plan, no credit card | 21 days for qualified accounts |
| Session notes | Ambient recording → transcript → therapy-native drafted note (SOAP, DAP, and more); unlimited from $49/mo | AI-drafted visit notes from Zoom's proprietary healthcare speech recognition, with primary-care and behavioral-health templates |
| Where sessions happen / platform dependence | Any telehealth platform or in person — records from the browser extension or the iPhone app; no video vendor lock-in | Zoom Meetings, Zoom Phone, and Zoom Contact Center; in person via Zoom's desktop, web, and mobile apps. Requires a Zoom Workplace license |
| BAA | Executed at signup on every paid plan, from $15/month — no sales call | Available to support HIPAA compliance efforts under a signed BAA; eligibility and process are handled with Zoom |
| PHI handling before AI | De-identified before any model call; self-hosted transcription; never training data, written into the BAA | Zoom states it does not use customer content to train its or third-party AI models; de-identification before AI is not described on the Clinical Notes page |
| Data retention | Session audio deleted when you delete the session and automatically within 30 days of transcription; transcripts and notes stay until you delete them | Admin-configurable data retention of up to 14 days, per Zoom's product page; whether that covers session audio is not stated |
| EHR integration | Works alongside any EHR — copy the finished note into the chart you already use; no direct write-back integration | Epic Haiku and Hyperspace integrations at additional cost; Chrome/Edge browser extension for web-based EHRs |
| Psychological / psychoeducational report writing | Yes — Psychologist plan ($99/mo): score extraction you verify, then drafted report sections | Not part of Clinical Notes as described — the product is visit documentation |
| Data residency | AWS, US regions only | Clinical Notes and transcripts stored in the U.S., per Zoom's product page |
Sources: psyfipractice.com/pricing and /security; Zoom's Clinical Notes product page (zoom.com/en/industry/healthcare/features/clinical-notes/) and the Zoomtopia announcement (news.zoom.com), as read on October 21, 2026. Zoom's figures are Zoom's own public statements — features and prices change, so verify with each vendor before use with PHI.
When Zoom is the better fit
- Your organization already runs on Zoom Workplace and charts in Epic — the Haiku and Hyperspace integrations put the note where it needs to go.
- You're a multi-specialty group or a primary-care practice that wants one documentation tool across service lines, not a behavioral-health specialist.
- You want notes drafted inside the meeting client you're already in, with no separate recorder to start.
- You're an enterprise health system with an admin team to handle BAA eligibility, retention settings, and annual per-user licensing.
When PsyFi is the better fit
- You're a therapist or psychologist and want AI built for that work — therapy-native notes, a psychology-scoped assistant, and assessment report drafting that no meeting-client scribe offers.
- Your sessions don't all happen on Zoom: PsyFi records from any telehealth platform or in the room, from the browser extension or the iPhone app.
- You're solo or a small practice and want to sign up today: the BAA is executed at signup on every paid plan, with no annual commitment and no second license to buy.
- You want the data terms stated plainly up front: de-identification before any AI call, self-hosted transcription, audio deleted within 30 days, never training data. Figures as of October 2026.
See it with your own caseload
Try the whole PsyFi suite free for 7 days — notes, assistant, and report writing, with a BAA on every paid plan.
No credit card required.