Quick answer
If you are shopping for a PsyFiScribe alternative, the honest starting point is why. PsyFiScribe is not sold on its own — it is the session-notes engine inside PsyFi's Clinician plan ($49/mo) and above — so it fits clinicians who want behavioral-health notes and a clinical AI chat assistant together, and it does not fit clinicians who want a scribe by itself, a bundled EHR, or a medical prescribing workflow. For those cases, six genuine alternatives are worth a look: Mentalyc, Upheal, Twofold, Supanote, Freed, and Heidi. Public pricing for each is below, as of September 2026. Confirm a signed BAA before sending real PHI to any of them.
Start with the fit guide, not the feature list
This post opens with who PsyFiScribe is and is not for, because the reason you are comparing is the best predictor of which tool you should land on.
PsyFiScribe is an ambient scribe built for behavioral health. You hit record in-person or over telehealth (a Chrome extension covers the desk; the PsyFi iOS app covers your phone), it transcribes on PsyFi's own infrastructure, de-identifies PHI before any AI processing, and returns a structured draft — SOAP, DAP, BIRP, or a narrative note — for you to edit and sign. It works alongside whatever EHR you already use rather than replacing it. Sessions are never used to train models. PsyFi is HIPAA-aligned, BAA available on every paid plan.
Since the 2026 suite consolidation, there is no standalone Scribe subscription. (As of August 2026 the products are branded PsyFi Notes and PsyFi Practice; "PsyFiScribe" and "PsyFiGPT" below are the former names most people still search for.) The notes engine ships inside the Clinician plan at $49/mo ($490/yr) and the tiers above it, alongside PsyFiGPT — the clinical chat and drafting surface with document search, encrypted memory across sessions, and the ability to pull a finished transcript into chat. Full plan details are on the pricing page.
PsyFiScribe is a good fit if you:
- Want behavioral-health note formats out of the box, not medical templates adapted for therapy.
- Would use a clinical AI assistant for more than notes — treatment-plan updates, referral letters, reasoning through a difficult session with the transcript in front of you — and would rather not pay two vendors for that.
- Care that PHI is de-identified before it reaches a model, and want that written into the plan rather than an enterprise upsell.
- Already have an EHR you like and want the AI layer to stay independent of it.
PsyFiScribe is probably not the right fit if you:
- Only want a scribe, and $49/mo for notes-plus-chat feels like paying for a chat surface you will not open.
- Write fewer than 40 notes a month and want the cheapest possible fixed price.
- Want scheduling, billing, telehealth, and notes in one platform.
- Are a prescriber or medical clinician whose notes need ICD-10/CPT coding and EHR push more than they need a treatment-plan-aware SOAP draft.
Six PsyFiScribe alternatives, with public pricing
All figures below are from each vendor's public pricing page, checked on September 1, 2026, unless noted. Pricing changes often; verify before you commit.
1. Mentalyc — best for a low-volume solo caseload on a fixed budget
Mentalyc tiers by note volume: Mini $19.99/mo (40 notes), Basic $39.99/mo (100 notes), Pro $69.99/mo (160 notes), Super $119.99/mo (330 notes), with annual billing knocking each down by $5–$20. Every tier includes a BAA, and Mentalyc states it de-identifies data. Couples and family client types arrive at Pro; group therapy notes at Super.
Best for: part-time solo clinicians who can count their monthly sessions and stay under a cap. Watch for: the caps are real. Cross 40 notes a month and you are at $39.99, cross 100 and you are at $69.99 — at which point the price gap with PsyFi's Clinician plan has inverted. Broader landscape: Mentalyc alternatives.
2. Upheal — best if you want notes inside a light EHR
Upheal bills $1 per completed session, capped at $69/mo per provider, with a 30-day full trial and a free tier that includes unlimited basic AI notes, telehealth calls, scheduling, and a client portal. The paid plan adds invoicing, superbills, and insurance claims (per-claim fees). Upheal includes a BAA for covered entities.
Best for: solo practitioners who want one login for scheduling, telehealth, billing, and notes, and whose caseload varies month to month. Watch for: if you already run your practice in SimplePractice or TherapyNotes, you are paying for a second practice-management layer to get the scribe. Our head-to-head is Upheal vs. PsyFiScribe.
3. Twofold — best for unlimited notes at a flat price, notes only
Twofold's Personal plan is $69/mo month-to-month (a promotional $19 first month was running on September 1) or about $49/mo billed annually, for unlimited notes, a large template library, CPT/ICD-10 coding suggestions, and a signed BAA. There is a 7-day trial with no card.
Best for: a busy solo clinician who wants a focused, behavioral-health-friendly scribe and nothing else attached. Watch for: month-to-month, Twofold costs $20/mo more than PsyFi's Clinician plan; billed annually the two are within a few dollars, so the decision is really "do I want the chat surface or not."
4. Supanote — best for the cheapest unlimited-notes plan
Supanote runs Starter from $19.99/mo (40 notes), Pro from $39.99/mo (unlimited notes, EHR integration, style personalization), and XL from $69.99/mo (adds group sessions), with a 14-day trial. Starter and above include a BAA and consent forms. Couples sessions are supported from Starter.
Best for: solo therapists who want unlimited notes at the lowest published fixed price. Watch for: the "from" pricing is the annual rate; check what month-to-month costs. Supanote is a newer entrant; ask about data retention before trusting it with a full caseload.
5. Freed — best for prescribers and medical-first workflows
Freed is a general medical scribe with 20+ specialties: Starter $39/mo (40 notes), Core $79/mo (unlimited), Premier $104/mo billed annually or $119/mo month-to-month (adds EHR push, ICD-10/CPT coding, patient instructions), with a 7-day no-card trial and a BAA. Core is free for residents and trainees.
Best for: psychiatric NPs, psychiatrists, and integrated-care clinicians whose documentation is closer to a medical visit than a therapy hour. Watch for: Freed's roots are medical. Expect more editing to get a DAP or BIRP note reading the way you write; see Freed AI for therapists.
6. Heidi — best if you want a free tier and a multi-specialty scribe
Heidi offers a free tier with unlimited transcription and standard templates, and paid tiers reported at roughly $99–$150/user/mo. Heidi's US pricing is not published in full on its pricing page as of September 2026 — the range above is from third-party reviews and matches what we last verified for our PsyFi vs. Heidi page in July 2026. Per-plan BAA terms are also not clearly published; ask before you sign.
Best for: clinicians who want to start free and are comfortable with a multi-specialty tool. Watch for: the paid tier is the most expensive on this list by a wide margin, and behavioral-health specifics — treatment-plan-aware drafts, MSE structure — are not its focus.
Side by side
|
PsyFiScribe (Clinician) |
Mentalyc |
Upheal |
Twofold |
Supanote |
Freed |
Heidi |
| Unlimited-notes price, solo (monthly) |
$49 |
No unlimited individual tier (capped, $19.99–$119.99) |
$69 cap ($1/session) |
$69 (~$49 annual) |
$39.99 (Pro) |
$79 (Core) |
Free tier; paid ~$99–$150 reported |
| Built for behavioral health |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
No (medical, 20+ specialties) |
No (multi-specialty) |
| BAA on the entry paid plan |
Yes, every paid plan |
Yes |
Yes (covered entities) |
Yes |
Yes |
Yes |
Not clearly published |
| PHI de-identified before AI processing |
Yes, every plan |
States de-identification |
Pseudonymized at rest |
Not stated publicly |
Not stated publicly |
Not stated publicly |
Not stated publicly |
| Clinical chat + drafting in the same plan |
Full assistant: chat, document search, drafting panel, memory |
Alliance Genie (limited on lower tiers) |
AI Assistant (beta) |
Notes-scoped AI assistant |
Client workspace (Pro+) |
Evidence answers (Core+) |
Ask Heidi (limited on Free) |
Figures as of September 2026; "not stated publicly" means we could not find it on the vendor's pricing or security pages that day, not that the vendor lacks it. Ask.
A concrete workflow: a telehealth-only solo clinician deciding in one week
Take an LCSW running a telehealth-only practice at 18 sessions a week, charting in SimplePractice, writing DAP notes by hand at about 12 minutes each — roughly 72 notes and 14 hours of documentation a month, so every plan here except the 40-note tiers is in play.
Day 1. She narrows to three on price and fit: Supanote Pro ($39.99/mo, unlimited, notes only), Twofold ($69/mo monthly), and PsyFi Clinician ($49/mo, notes plus chat). Upheal is out because she is not leaving SimplePractice; Freed and Heidi are out because she does not prescribe.
Days 2–5. With client consent, she records the same eight sessions in two tools at once — PsyFi via the Chrome extension on her telehealth window, the other via its recorder. Each evening she opens both drafts next to the note she would have written and counts edits. Her rule: the tool that produces an Assessment section with an actual clinical judgment, not a restatement of the client's words, wins the session.
Day 6. She tests the part only PsyFi offers: pulls one transcript into chat and asks for a treatment-plan update and a draft referral letter to a psychiatrist. If she would never do that, the chat surface is worth $0 to her and Supanote Pro at $39.99 is the rational pick. If she would do it weekly, the $9 difference buys her the second vendor she was about to go find anyway.
Day 7. She cancels the loser, confirms the winner's BAA is signed and filed, and adds a line to her informed-consent paperwork describing the recording tool. Total clinician time: about three hours, most of it reading drafts she needed to read regardless. The trial is the comparison; the pricing table only tells you which trials to run.
How to run the comparison without getting burned
- Get the BAA in writing before session one. Every vendor here handles PHI. The vetting checklist is in HIPAA-safe AI therapy notes.
- Model your real volume. Count last month's sessions. A 40-note cap looks cheap until October.
- Test your hardest session type. Couples, an interpreter, a crisis session with long silences — that is where scribes differ.
- Decide on the chat question honestly. If you want a clinical assistant attached to your notes, PsyFi's Clinician plan is priced against notes-only tools. If not, pick one of the six above.
- Keep the clinician in the loop. None of these tools produces a signable note; they produce drafts. The signature, and the judgment behind it, stay with you.
This post compares publicly listed pricing as of September 2026; confirm current pricing and BAA terms directly with each vendor. Nothing here is legal advice — consult your compliance lead.